Skip to content

Finding Fidardo Landi – My privacy policy for the blogging universe

February 18, 2013
Ishmael In The Desert was  designed by Fidardo Landi as a teenager and finished when he was 22. It now is on permanent exhibit at the Accademis de Belle Arte in Carrara, Italy.

Ishmael In The Desert was designed by Fidardo Landi as a teenager and finished when he was 22. It now is on permanent exhibit at the Accademis de Belle Arte in Carrara, Italy. Photo used with permission by Casey A. Danielsen

If we have met online, because of our mutual interest in artwork designed, created, started, carved, polished or consulted on by my great grandfather Fidardo Landi (1866-1918) of Carrara, Italy and New York City, I immediately considered you a friend. Family even.  We share a passion for art. We are invigorated by the life that true artwork breathes. We love a good story. We are excited to meet someone with a mutual interest in the things we enjoy. I deeply value these friendships.

Now is a good time for me to share my privacy policy.

I began this journey of searching for information on my great grandfather with my mother nearly 25 years ago. For awhile we were like two detectives, who started and stopped on a cold case. Over time my entire extended family chimed in on this quest, fueling us with the energy and support to continue searching. They are my cheerleaders. Without them Mom and I would not have realized this much of our dream.  This journey for me is about documenting my family history. I don’t want to be intrusive.

While this blog started out as a means to share family stories with my large extended family, it has evolved to be a source for others looking for information on Landi’s work. No one else has as much information on his work as Mom and I do.

My mission is simple: Artists of centuries ago simply didn’t do a good job documenting their work. They didn’t protect their sketches and collections from the elements. They didn’t know how valuable their old sculpting tools would be to future generations. They didn’t do a good job of preserving their legacy or the process in which they worked. I’m not even sure if they did a good job of vocalizing the passion and meaning in their work. They simply let it speak for itself.  As Mom always says, “They simply DID NOT TALK.”

Fidardo Landi was no different. In 1900, he immigrated to the United States with a commission to create a bas relief of President William McKinley, set up his business, and struggled with the new language for the next 18 years.  Even in his struggles he did masterful works. Work I’m still trying to find.

I am often asked the following questions by art collectors: Why was this created; Who was it designed for; Are there others; Do you know if other collectors are planning to sell their artwork; is this true bronze or a metal combination; how can I get mine restored; how should I maintain it; is this white Carrara marble; What is my piece worth; Can I see photos of his other works; and what information can you send me.

My goal is simple. I want to compile as much information as possible on my great grandfather’s work here in the United States to create a reference guide. Private and public owners of his work should know how valuable his work is in comparison to all that has been created. I want to compile a list of the commercial work he did in Italy, too. That, however, may require me to move to northern Italy for some period of time and,  while I’m ready to go now, my family may not appreciate my absence.

My privacy policy: If you own a piece of Fidardo Landi’s artwork or his sculpting tools, don’t be afraid to contact me. I’m not going to steal your artwork. I’m interested in your story and I want to help protect the value of your artwork. Think of me as a resource of information to help maintain your historic and cultural resources. I will talk to you about archiving information on your artwork and how to include it in your insurance and estate planning. I would appreciate any new information you can share with me.

To that end, I will not ever publish you full name or address. I will not share your information with other collectors or entities unless you ask me to do so. I will do everything within my means to conceal your identify, including how I organize, store and backup my computer systems.  I will not use any of your photos without permission. I want you to feel safe with sharing information with me. I want the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

