Skip to content

Fidardo Landi – The hands of a sculptor

January 17, 2011

At some point in the future I really should take a life sculpting course, just to understand what I’m looking at and why I am so fascinated with my great grandfather’s work. There is something about the hands, the way they moved until they were set into place as if building up the energy to move again.

Here are several examples of the hands on works of art by my great grandfather Fidardo Landi. (Note: I will write more about these statues later)

Meet Daisy (left). I will write more about later. She’s a young girl with a water pitcher. My family doesn’t know how many of these bronze sculptures were actually cast.  We suspect between three and six statues were made. Notice the gentle way her left hand reaches back as she bends forward with the water.

The Redfield Forman Monument in Syracuse that was lovingly restored over a two year period by the city and local artist Sharon BuMann, culminating with its return this fall is a work of art twice. The first was its creation by Landi and the second was its restoration by BuMann.

Lewis H. Redfield, a journalist who was credited with documenting the land ownership in the city, is sitting in a chair looking up at Joshua Forman with a rather confident smirk on his face. In one hand is a notebook, every journalist’s siren to be ready to write at all times. In the other hand is a pen, which always sounds the siren.  Not to be missed is the strength in Hiawatha’s hands. All his power and experience rest on the strength of his hands as he sits forward in position on this statue.

Haiawatha's hands

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The hands of young ladies met me in Cleveland. There is a distinct femininity in the hands of The Mermaids

overlooking Wade Lagoon in Cleveland, Ohio. The more confident Mermaid is leaning forward on her hands, as she scouts over the lake, like a cat at rest that could also leap into the air in a millisecond. The timid mermaid reaches her hand around the back of her partner’s shoulder, weaving her fingers through a curl of hair.

Life sculpture has recently become so facinating to me. I wish I knew why it was so important to bring that much life into such a small detail.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Taran permalink
    January 24, 2011 7:15 pm

    I was looking up Fidardo Landi sculptures because my grandfather actual has one. The sculpture is of the the young girl with a water pitcher. It seems to be made of bronze and has a green patena over the entire statue. Along the left foot there is a …(c) F. Landi 1917 inscription. The base that she is standing on says “Roman Bronze Works N.Y.”

    I was wondering if this matched with you knowledge of the sculpture? He bought it many years ago, we would like to find the current value of it now as well.

    Your great-grandfather was a wonderful artist and I want to let you know that there is another one.

    Best Wishes,

    Taran

    Feel Free to contact me at my email.

Leave a Reply

