Skip to content

Cranberry Walnut bread

November 30, 2009

104-Meal Challenge – Cranberry Walnut Bread

Quick sweet breads are always welcomed on the table. They balance between a bread and dessert and can be eaten all day. Making homemade sweet breads requires just a few steps and a dozen ingredients that most of us have in the house already. It usually takes 10-15 minutes to mix up a batch of bread dough and that includes the time to make a fresh pot of tea. An hour later the smell of fruit or cinnamon is infused into every room of your home. You will find yourself suddenly inhaling deeply.

Most recipes I find can be adapted to lower the fat content or make it lower in cholesterol. I tend to reduce the amount of sugar in most recipes, because I like to let the fruit or herb flavors speak for themselves. I’ve alsso learned from my daughter Alexandra (www.afoodcoma.com) how to convert most sweet bread recipes to a vegan affair. No one, but the vegan in the room knows.

Quick breads make the best gifts. Try this one. I made it for a receiving gift when I went to visit my high school track coach the day after Thanksgiving. It is neither hard nor all that new for me. I’ve baked plenty of cranberry muffin receipes in the past, but this one is a slightly different cranberry bread. I had planned to use the leftover homemade cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving in this dish, but there weren’t any leftovers. So I substituted organic dried cranberries that I had one hand. I’d recommend doubling the recipe: one bread to give and one to keep.

THE COOKBOOK: The American Country Inn and Bed & Breakfast Cookbook Volume Two by Kitty and Lucian Maynard C- 1990. 1,800 recipes from 600 American and Canadian Inns. I love this book. Everytime I finger through the pages I want to travel.

Cranberry-Walnut Bread

(From the Highland Farm in New Hartford Connecticut)

About 5-10 minutes of prep. 50-60 minutes cooking

2 cups all-purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 cup sugar

1 cup of cranberries

1 cup of chopped walnuts

1 egg

¾ cup of milk

¼ cup of butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

Grease a 1 ½ quart loaf pan. In a large bowl stir together the flour, baking powder and salt. Stir in the sugar, cranberries and walnuts. In a small bowl lightly beat the egg. Add the milk, butter and vanilla. Combine the liquids with the dry ingredients and stir until moist. Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes or until light brown (when a toothpick comes out clean). Cool completely. Wrap well and store for several hours before cutting. Serves 8.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

